Thursday, April 2, 2015

Blender: Save Your Settings Tip

I bet there is some deep psychology involved in the fact that we all love new stuff (especially when it's free) but hate change. I can't really help with the psychology bit, but I can show you how to get a shiny new Blender installation to still look and feel like your same old friend.

As far as I know, Blender invented this concept of copying your previous settings (add ons, color scheme, plug ins, units, edit functions, shortcuts) to your new installation of Blender. It's brilliant, other smart software makers (like Adobe) have since adopted it and I don't want you to miss this opportunity. It will only happen ONCE. 

The first time that you open the new installation, you will see this little blue button shown below. Pressing that button may save you a couple hours fiddling and an onslaught of panic attacks, so act now. 

Now, don't get me wrong, I think it's good to go back inside preferences and poke around, maybe change some settings, try out a new theme or color scheme, revise your add ons according to which ones you liked and which ones you never used. But that enterprise is best left for when you feel like doing it, not when your new software version plunges you into the unknown.

Now go get yourself a new Blender so you can see this here cute lil critter and the magic blue button at start up.

No comments:

Post a Comment